• July 16, 2024

26th Afife Theater Awards celebrates the Turkish stages

 26th Afife Theater Awards celebrates the Turkish stages

26th edition of  Yapı Kredi Afife Theatre Awards lit up Istanbul’s Haliç Congress Center on Tuesday, June 11th, in a glittering ceremony that showcased the very best of Turkish theatre. The annual awards, a cherished tradition that bridges the arts and business worlds, recognized excellence across 16 categories.

The evening was a celebration of the rich tapestry of Turkish theatre, with awards presented to both seasoned veterans and rising stars. Prof. Dr. Ayşegül Yüksel, a revered figure in the theatre community, received the prestigious Muhsin Ertuğrul Special Award for lifetime achievement. Playwright Müge Oskay was honored with the Cevat Fehmi Başkut Special Award for her play “Çarpışma” (Collision).

Duru Tiyatro’s production of “Mutlu Aile Tablosu” (Happy Family Portrait) won the Haldun Dormen Special Award for comedy and musical theatre, while actor Murat Ovalı was recognized with the Yapı Kredi Special Award.

Raising the Bar

Prof. Dr. Merih Tangün, Chair of the Yapı Kredi Afife Theatre Awards jury, emphasized the ever-evolving nature of Turkish theatre. “We’ve just experienced an amazing season that reminds us of the unique power of theatre as a universal language and a tool for emotional connection,” he remarked. “Turkish theatre continues to raise the bar, and we’re thrilled to see audience engagement growing year after year.”

Full List of Winners:

  • Most Successful Play of the Year: “Yaşamak mı Ölmek mi” (To Live or Die) – Kocaeli Şehir Tiyatroları (Kocaeli City Theatres)
  • Most Successful Director of the Year: Oğuz Utku Güneş – “39 Buçuk Basamak” (The 39 Steps)
  • Most Successful Actress of the Year: Zuhal Olcay – “Kel Diva” (The Bald Soprano)
  • Most Successful Actor of the Year: Onur Berk Arslanoğlu – “Çirkin” (Ugly)
  • Most Successful Supporting Actress of the Year: Çağdaş Ekin Şişman – “Büyük Zarfı Apartmanı” (The Grand Envelopes Apartment)
  • Most Successful Supporting Actor of the Year: Erkan Baylav – “Şakşakçılar” (The Flatterers)
  • Most Successful Stage Design of the Year: Murat Gülmez – “Yaşamak mı Ölmek mi” (To Live or To Die)
  • Most Successful Costume Design of the Year: Çevren Sarayoğlu – “Yaşamak mı Ölmek mi” (To Live or To Die)
  • Most Successful Stage Music of the Year: Sarp Palaur, Burak Kaya, & Utar Dündar Artun – “Otomatik Portakal” (A Clockwork Orange)
  • Most Successful Lighting Design of the Year: Yakup Çartık – “Otomatik Portakal” (A Clockwork Orange)
  • Most Successful Choreography of the Year: Şahika Tekand – “On Adımda Unutmak” (Forgetting in Ten Steps)
  • Most Successful Young Generation Artist of the Year: Emrecan Karakurum – “Bu Taraftan Daha Güz” (I’m Prettier from This Side)

A Legacy of Support

The Yapı Kredi Afife Theatre Awards not only celebrate achievement but also nurture the future of Turkish theatre. The bank’s scholarship program, in collaboration with the Turkish Education Foundation, supports young talents pursuing careers in the performing arts.

This year’s ceremony, hosted by the charismatic duo Özge Borak and Mert Fırat, was a testament to the enduring power and vibrancy of Turkish theatre. As the curtain falls on another successful season, the Yapı Kredi Afife Theatre Awards continue to shine a spotlight on the artists and productions that make Turkish theatre a cultural force to be reckoned with.